SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOn Wednesday last, I had my annual performance appraisal, which is usually (isn’t it for everyone?) an event overflowing with joy and excitement…

What was interesting this year was that governors have taken seriously the need for some deeper theological and reflective thinking on our nature as a school, and how this might impact on other schools that need a more secure understanding of their mission. In addition, over the week I have received some encouragement both from Tom Wright and Trevor Cooling to push forward in the direction of the last post I wrote at the end of September. I have arranged to meet with Trevor in late November, and this serves as a kind of deadline for me to put together a research proposal for myself that will challenge me to set out a program for reading, reflecting and writing. The appraisal target talks about extending the work of this blog, so it is likely that I will have to trawl through much of what I have written to see if it still fits what I have come to believe.

???????????????????????An approach that I favour might be one that posits a range of questions that I then keep at the forefront of everything I do as a school leader over the year, and then evaluate or answer the questions in terms of what has been learnt. I have proven to myself that I am not someone who can go off for 2 week’s sabbatical and come up with a paper ready for publication. Theological and philosophical work is, I think, much more iterative than that, especially when I have a day job that takes up more time than it should anyway. And of course, there have been enough reference points and contextual discussions in the blog so far for me to make the first steps along the path.

I will be looking for fellow-travellers, by the way.

About Huw Humphreys

I am a headteacher in the city of Milton Keynes, where I have been since April 2011, looking to make education effective for the whole child and keeping a distant relationship with the powers that be and their narrowing approach to education... but most of all I am looking to find out what it means to be both a follower of Jesus Christ and a passionate educator in the midst of an unsettled community. I am also a part time musician, part time linguist and lover of history and literature...committed both to freedom to learn and depth of learning for all our children. The views on this blog are all my own, and not in any way those of the school I lead!

One response »

  1. John Bradley says:

    I’m happy to be a fellow traveller, Huw. As you know I am an unlettered man but I consider myself to be a jobbing theologian because my faith is always seeking understanding in various contexts.

    I was struck with Brian Cox’s Human Universe with brilliant physics and cosmology but when he touched on theology he was infantile (if that isn’t a slur on infants!).

    John

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Please comment here...

