nashdream Back in August I wrote about encountering this painting by Paul Nash in the Tate Modern. It is called Landscape from a Dream.

The reason it excited me was that we had spent a term with children using it as an excuse for thinking about portraying their dreams and practising landscape painting in a variety of media, mostly acrylics. When I came across the painting in the Tate Modern, I had not realised that it was there where it was exhibited. So, now I have taken the display of this work down from the main hall at Christ the Sower, I wanted to show the paintings the children (mostly in Y3-5) completed here before returning the work to the artists. Some of them are derived directly from the work of Nash, whose work they spent two afternoons studying ahead of the work, but all have a lovely sense of place and strong emotions behind them, and some extend the concept of the painting into their own vision of landscape. It was fun watching the children learning the techniques and I (and they) would appreciate comments!

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

About Huw Humphreys

I am a headteacher in the city of Milton Keynes, where I have been since April 2011, looking to make education effective for the whole child and keeping a distant relationship with the powers that be and their narrowing approach to education... but most of all I am looking to find out what it means to be both a follower of Jesus Christ and a passionate educator in the midst of an unsettled community. I am also a part time musician, part time linguist and lover of history and literature...committed both to freedom to learn and depth of learning for all our children. The views on this blog are all my own, and not in any way those of the school I lead!

Please comment here...

