dsc04480I know that I have been particularly lax over the last ten days at writing anything here. We have seen the publication of school league tables (a complete nonsense and farce, whatever Nick Gibb says), the promulgation of the new funding formula for schools (no more money, just the same old shirt ironed out with different creases), the closure of the silly consultation on grammar schools (as though that is any kind of legitimate priority) and the publication of the PISA tables, virtually meaningless and of no account, yet taken as gospel by silly governments as drivers for improvement. As John Hattie once memorably said: politicians are not silly people, but they do silly things for silly reasons. As a head, I spend more time than I ought, protecting my staff and my children from this government.

dsc04484dsc04489While all that was going on, I have been managing various resignations/departures of staff, a permanent exclusion (something I swore that I would never do), and participating in what a mate of mine called “Nativity Alley” – the stream of celebration of Christmas, starting with the Advent call to “wake up and get ready, ’cause the King is coming back.” A lot of it (not the resignations or exclusion, obviously) has been wonderful, and for me highlighted the key expectation that Jesus has established a great kingdom and one day he is coming back to re-claim his ruler-ship over it on earth. We have looked at that through the three parables of Matthew 25 – the wise and foolish virgins (which is not about virgins), the parable of the talents (which is not really about talents) and the Sheep and the Goats (which is not about agriculture). They are all about how we live life and set priorities in the light of the return of the King, and so they are all about discipleship.

dsc04477But what has really reinforced my love for this job and the possibilities it contains has been two things – looking to the future of teaching and learning at Christ the Sower (about which more in the new year, but it is inspiring me even thinking about it) and printmaking. For me this is a new venture, and I have enjoyed the journey. For the 13 children who have worked with me on darkening Tuesday evenings in a printmakers’ club, it has been a revelation. I have never known anything like printmaking to cause the wonder of art to come alive for children. We have done monoprinting, press-printing with polystyrene, and single- and double colour linocuts, using reduction methods. We have also tried colloprints but those were less successful. But there has been a mass of good stuff, and I am using this blog just to show it all off to you, because I am so proud of this group of children and their growing printmaking abilities. Some have found this to be the medium they excel in. others are good at art generally, and others have struggled to conquer it and make it their own. I have loved the interaction – children helping me with my own printmaking, other staff (thank you Hema and Emma) coming to join me, and the printing conversations we have with each child about proofing, inking, cutting and registering. All of them have the bug, and some of them have their own linocut sets or are getting them for Christmas. Like me, they are addicts. Here is their work:

dsc04471dsc04472dsc04473dsc04474dsc04475dsc04476dsc04481dsc04482dsc04483dsc04491dsc04490dsc04488

About Huw Humphreys

I am a headteacher in the city of Milton Keynes, where I have been since April 2011, looking to make education effective for the whole child and keeping a distant relationship with the powers that be and their narrowing approach to education... but most of all I am looking to find out what it means to be both a follower of Jesus Christ and a passionate educator in the midst of an unsettled community. I am also a part time musician, part time linguist and lover of history and literature...committed both to freedom to learn and depth of learning for all our children. The views on this blog are all my own, and not in any way those of the school I lead!

2 responses »

  1. Sonia says:

    Good evening Huw,

    I saw these at school and thought it captured a natural spirit. The superposition of black and orange or green reminded me of the colours of totems.

    On Tuesday, our supply teacher read the book ‘Coming Home’ by Michael Morpurgo to the children. It tells the journey of a Scandinavian robin migrating to Great Britain.The point of view and the lyricism he used reminded me of Ted Hughes’ The Hawk in the Rain (which I’ve studied last year and isn’t for children) but, coincidentally when I had a look at the website of Morpurgo, he stated that he was helped by Ted Hughes during his debut as a writer. This afternoon, I went to the bookshop to buy ‘Coming Home’ and after reading the story a second time I thought that it captured the real values of Christmas and of God as ‘provider’ to us, after all it’s Jesus who says in Matthew 6:26, “Look at the birds of the air, they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your Heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much valuable than they?”
    The book also includes a fact page, at the end, explaining that the robins use stars in clear sky to navigate home, which again recalled the three Kings travelling to meet baby Jesus. I think it’s a good piece of work and somehow it reminds the children about how our relationship to the natural world is precious because it helps us to understand the Creation and God.

    Merry Christmas

    Sonia

  2. […] has been particularly great watching 4 of the printmakers from last term really deepen their understanding and constantly challenge themselves to more […]

Please comment here...

