A number of people have asked me about my current obsession for relief printmaking, so in partial reply, here are a few pictures of recent woodcuts completed since Christmas 2016. Standard cheap-and-cheerful Japanese woodcutting tools (bought from Intaglio Printmakers) regularly sharpened on a small Arkansas stone with honing oil; inks from Lawrence’s of Hove (or from Hobbycraft!); wood is either shina (for the small pieces) or a thick 7-ply from B&Q where the friendly guy with the dangerous machine cuts them into 20 x 20cm blocks for me. Papers are generally Awagami Hosho Shi (for the bigger prints) or a thick cartridge paper for the smaller ones. All are hand-printed, using a smooth acrylic doorknob (B&Q again!) as a baren.

Seeing them all here, they look decidedly amateurish (partly that is the photography!), but they have given me hours of pleasure (and frustration of course) and along with linocut printing, have spoken to me artistically in a way that no other visual art forms have. Comments welcome – always looking to improve.

About Huw Humphreys

I am a headteacher in the city of Milton Keynes, where I have been since April 2011, looking to make education effective for the whole child and keeping a distant relationship with the powers that be and their narrowing approach to education... but most of all I am looking to find out what it means to be both a follower of Jesus Christ and a passionate educator in the midst of an unsettled community. I am also a part time musician, part time linguist and lover of history and literature...committed both to freedom to learn and depth of learning for all our children. The views on this blog are all my own, and not in any way those of the school I lead!

Please comment here...

